State Bar of Texas
Poverty Law Section

Home Page
Events and Links
News and Stories
First Friday

PLS Awards

Learn more about us:

Check out the new 2014 issue of the
Poverty Law Section Reporter

Download it here

PLS Officers:

Matthew Probus—Chair
Attorney at Law

Shelby JeanVice Chair
Legal Aid of NorthWest Texas
Hong Tran Escobar—Secretary
Attorney at Law
Maria Luisa Mercado—Treasurer
Lone Star Legal Aid

Council Members:

Kevin Dietz
Texas RioGrande Legal Aid
Tamara Duncan
Legal Aid of NorthWest Texas
Tai Ho
Lone Star Legal Aid
Cathryn Ibarra
State Bar of Texas
Kevin McCary
El Paso County
Attorney's Office
Brian McGiverin
Texas Civil Rights Project
Alberto Mesta
Texas RioGrande Legal Aid
K'Lisha Pace
Legal Aid of NorthWest Texas
Melissa Thrailkill
Attorney at Law

SBOT Section Advisor
Regina Bynote Jones
The Poverty Law Section is proud to be the 43rd section of the State Bar of Texas. Our section is comprised of attorneys who practice or have an interest in poverty law, whether housing, family, benefits, healthcare access, consumer, or the various other areas of law that affect the poor in our communities. Our attorneys include a diverse group ranging from private attorneys to legal services attorneys to the academic community.

Want to join? Go to Choose "My Bar Page" and log in. Choose "My Section Memberships" on left navigation bar. Click on the "Purchase Sections" button that appears. Locate "Poverty Law" and check the box by it. Follow the remaining instructions to add, confirm, and pay on-line. Section dues are $15 per year.

Texas Lawyers for Texas Veterans is a State Bar of Texas program initiated by past-President Terry Tottenham to develop and assist pro bono legal clinics throughout the state for military veterans who otherwise cannot afford or do not have access to the legal services they need.

Learn how to get involved by clicking on this link:

First Friday CLE

~a benefit of membership in the Poverty Law Section 

Stay tuned for our next CLE...


Copyright 2013 Poverty Law Section. All rights reserved.